By Gbenga Bada


A total of 14 contestants have secured spots to the Y’ello Star Hub as the season heats up.

After the first seven contestants secured a spot in the hub, seven more contestants secured spots to make 14 talents currently in the Y’ello Star Hub.

Contrary to the initially announced 13 spots in the Y’ello Star Hub, the judging trio of Omawumi, Banky W, and Olisa Adibua made a surprise selection bringing the number of finalists to 14.

Rakel and Innocent were the first pair to grace the stage for the sing-off to secure a spot in the Y’ello Star hub. They performed a blend of popular Nigerian songs. Afterward, the duo of Caesar and Rael took to the stage and impressed guest judge Olisa Adibua who rated their performance highly. The pair of Gideon and IBK was applauded by Banky W for their synergy in delivering their song mashup. Before carrying on with other performances, the judges had a little chit chat about music distribution, sharing opinions about what drives virality. They reached a consensus that all music distribution channels play a role, from radio, visuals, and social media.

After three more pairs of contestants performed for the night, all 12 contestants were invited individually to the stage for a final verdict. The MTN Y’ello Star team has added some colour to how final verdict are passed, designing different doors which light up based on the judges’ decision. David, Rael, Caesar, Uzezi, Fay Fay, and Gideon all received a nod and walked through the ‘Yes’ door. A highlight of Saturday’s show featured the judges using their veto power to select a 14th contestant, Jesse Drumz, the visually impaired singer who had wowed everyone right from his audition days.

Sunday’s opening gala kicked off with a performance by the 14 contestants who performed the Y’ello star theme song, after which the hosts, Tobi Bakre and Hilda Baci officially welcomed everyone to the Y’ello Star Hub.

The Nation