Chelsea have confirmed their Uefa Champions League squad for the group stages fixtures with head coach Frank Lampard adds added three more Blues youngsters to his squad.

Left-back Ian Maatsen, Goalkeeper Karlo Ziger and versatile defender and midfielder Henry Lawrence have all been place on “List B”.

Uefa have decided this season to allow five substitutions per game, meaning they can name 23 players per matchday squad, with 12 substitutes.

Adding the youngest in to their squad will allow Frank Lampard to flesh out his squad and cover for matches over the course of the season.

With the transfer window across the Europe closed on Monday night, the completing clubs have submitted their ” List A” on Tuesday.

This was made up of up to 25 players with a minimum of eight locally-trained players, with four of them having to come through the club of ages between 15 and 21.

“List B” is slightly different, however, as it can be made up of players aged 21 or younger with two years’ training at their club. Players can be added to that list by midnight the night before any upcoming game.

Ian Maatsen made his first team debut last season in the Carabao Cup win over Grimsby Town, while Henry Lawrence and Ziger are yet to make their competitive debuts for the senior side.

However, both have trained regularly with the first team since Frank Lampard came into the club in the summer of 2019.

LIST A (in squad number order):


Kepa Arrizabalaga, Edouard Mendy, Willy Caballero.


Antonio Rudiger, Marcos Alonso. Andreas Christensen, Thiago Silva, Fikayo Tomori, Kurt Zouma, Ben Chilwell, Cesar Azipilicueta, Emerson Palmieri.


Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Mateo Kovacic, Christian Pulisic, Hakim Ziyech, Kai Havertz.


Tammy Abraham, Olivier Giroud, Timo Werner.

LIST B: Callum Hudson-Odoi, Mason Mount, Billy Gilmour, Reece James, Karlo Ziger, Ian Maatsen, Henry Lawrence.

Source link